Blogging and bloggers: Are numbers representative?

When marketers approach bloggers they do it looking some popularity factors, comments, visits, et cetera. It is wrong. Some learn and do it the right way, some never learn.

Nowadays visits and comments in blogs are not representative. 90% of the comments are other bloggers trying to promote themselves to reach the level of popularity of the former. They do it because they pursue their own self-interest. They will not buy what the blogger is selling. They just wanna use her blog to sell theirs.

When I was working for a fashion brand, we approached a “super famous” blogger with more than 8,000 visits per day. We gave her clothes. The result after her first post? 0 sales. In comparison, I eyed a new blogger, she had barely 100 followers -now she has many many more. The result? 80+ pieces sold. Curious, uh? The trick is not in the visits, is in their influence.

And in another post I will speak more about how wrongly brands use bloggers as a marketing and advertising channel -how much wronger could it be? Not much, that is for sure. I made mistakes in the past but watching famous brands make the same ones now makes me cry. 

It is curious, but both bloggers are in this picture:

source

8 thoughts on “Blogging and bloggers: Are numbers representative?

  1. I really love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own site and want to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Cheers!

    • What I did at that point -I was super newbie!- was a mix of different strategies.

      My target audience was mainly Spanish at that point, so I started researching Spanish blogs. I used different tools to do that, different pages where you can see how highly are blogs ranked, the number of likes, visits and comments.
      From there I went looking for less popular bloggers -the popular ones asked for too much money, or the posts did seem “too commercial”. What I wanted was a sincere opinion. I didn’t want an advertorial, a paid-for post. I wanted something genuine.
      Then, I just tried to trust my “gut” -and used also a little of logic. I tried to find a girl that was charismatic, pretty, elegant and smart. The kind of girl that our target audience wanted to be. A girl that was pretty but close to her readers, a friend.
      The pictures were also important. The blog has to have good shoots and the girls need to photograph well, it doesn’t mean that she has to have the face or the body of a model, it means that the pics just need to “fit together”. I guess you can apply some knowledge of “persuasion theories” to all this. And then, just wait. If you see results soon, perfect. If not, well drop her…

      There’s other ways to measure influence more effectively. You gave me an idea for another post, soon.

      I don’t understand brands that use for example some bloggers so much. I am sure brands get publicity and exposure but not much more than that. Sometimes “only” exposure is like flipping the pages of a magazine full of ads, it’s just a little boring because it’s not really something that has an impact on you -or in this case, on your target audience.

    • Vaya que si. Se nota mucho que es puramente comercial y eso es totalmente perjudicial para la marca. Lástima que hoy en día la esencia de la “no-comercialidad” de los ego-blogs se ha perdido.

      • Buena fórmula también pero todo es relativo. A algunas les funciona con un % mas alto, mientras que a otras no. La sinceridad también es un factor importante, en mi opinión. Al fin y al cabo los blogs son una forma de comunicación/interacción de 2 sentidos -supuestamente. Lo que veo yo que hacen algunas bloggers (y que realmente estoy de acuerdo con ello) es sólo colaborar con firmas que se identifican con su estilo, eso se nota.

Leave a Reply

